The look of the retina

The retina, or photosensitive layer, forms the deepest layer of the posterior compartment of the eye. It consists of three basic types of cells: neurones, pigmented epithelial cells and neuronal support cells. Different photoreceptor cells can be distinguished among the neurones: the colour receptive cone cells and black and white receptive rod cells. A third type of photoreceptor cells has photosensitive ganglions, responsive to light intensity. The CMRB is working on different protocols to differentiate retinal cells from stem cells, with the aim of future application in regenerative therapy. The picture shows a cell culture in the process of differentiation to retinal from stem cells, positive for the neuronal markers Pax6 in green and Tuj1 in red.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s